Ending Week 2

Hi Digital Storytellers!

This week I decided to read and listen to everyone’s audio assignments. Overall, everyone did a fantastic job! Some great stories were shared, and I commented on everyone’s assignments using hypothesis (If I missed anyone, let me know!).

I saw that a lot of you struggled with this week’s audio assignment, specifically the technical aspects. Audio is a difficult medium to work with, I also struggled last year with this assignment. My produced audio assignment is probably my least favorite of all my ds106 assignments completed last year. All this to say that you’re not alone, I understand your struggle! I still struggle with audio projects.

Marge

 

Moving into week three you will be doing a video assignment. Video can also be very frustrating. You have access to some free tools to help you with your projects. On Windows you have Movie Maker (should be installed already, if not you can download from the link), and on Apple you have iMovie. On top of that YouTube has some editing features available after you upload your video. Other tools you can look into using include Camtasia (30 day free trial, then around $200 after if you decide to purchase), Adobe Premiere (very expensive, but great if you already have it) and Screencast-o-matic (if your chosen assignment requires a screencast).

This week you got the chance to read my favorite chapter from Lankshear and Knobel. Here is my reading response from last year about it. Notice that Remi and I disagree on one particular subject (the conversation is in my reflection for that week), and we still don’t agree to this day, and that’s ok. As graduate students, we’re allowed to disagree with our professors or readings, as long as we do it in a respectful way.

I also wanted to offer to anyone in the course that might be struggling the opportunity have a phone call with me via Google Hangouts. If you’re interested, please send me an email and we can set something up. Keep in mind that I’m in the Eastern time zone.
Keep telling those stories! Until next time!

Leave a Reply

